rachelleblake

Journalist at the University of Tennessee and the work I've done

My Last Homecoming

Leave a comment

As I walked though the rain this morning it hit me that this is my last homecoming.

As a student.

I’ve been sad and nostalgic lately, knowing my time at UT is almost over. UT is my home, and I don’t want to leave.

The good thing about home is that you can always go back.

That’s the purpose of homecoming. It’s so all of the students who’ve already graduated and moved on with their lives can come back…home. Everyone can relive their past. During homecoming, there aren’t students, parents, and alumni.

We’re all Vols. We all bleed orange and sing Rocky Top and tailgate and laugh and cry and enjoy Knoxville.

Homecoming isn’t just about pomping and parades. It’s a time for us to be one. Our only enemy is the team we play. And for that one day, everyone is home again.

So if you’re a senior, a mom, a grandfather, an alum…whoever. Remember that tomorrow it doesn’t matter if you’re a student or not. Because you’re a Volunteer and you’ll give your all for Tennessee.

*Photo credit to Saturdaydownsouth.com

Author: rachelleblake

Currently a Journalism student at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville. Aspiring journalist for over a decade.

Leave a Reply

