rachelleblake

Journalist at the University of Tennessee and the work I've done

Worth It

Leave a comment

I found out this morning that I was not selected for the USA Today program. Am I disappointed? A little. Overall, though, I think it was a valuable experience. Think of all good things that came out of it:

-Made this nifty little blog. Now I can post my assignments all in one place, and I haven’t done that before. 

-Learned more about our LGBT community at UT. And as an extra bonus I got  to hang out with Joel Kramer for an hour or so. 

-Did my first same-day journalism project. MY FIRST. Seriously, that’s a step in the right direction if nothing else. 

So the next time you’re down in the dumps because something didn’t go your way, take a moment. Maybe that wasn’t the right direction for you anyway. Embrace change and make the best of your new situation. 

Author: rachelleblake

Currently a Journalism student at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville. Aspiring journalist for over a decade.

Leave a Reply

